Memory is a funny thing.

I recently read On The Road by Jack Kerouac. I just happened to pick it up in the library without knowing that this is the 50th anniversary of its publication.

Any way, on the cover it said that it was an autobiographical novel based on Kerouac’s travels with Neal Cassady in the 1940’s. I didn’t know much about Jack Kerouac and even less about Neal Cassady, who is represented by the character of Dean Moriarty in the book. Everytime I read a segment about Dean and happened to think about it really being Neal Cassady, I would get a mental image of Nick Nolte. I just couldn’t shake the image of Nick Nolte whenever I thought of Neal Cassady.

So, I decided to look up Nick Nolte on imdb.com and sure enough, he played Neal Cassady in the movie Heart Beat which came out in 1980. So, my mental image originated with a movie that was released 27 years ago that I have never seen. Is that weird or what?

Leave a Reply

