My first weblog.



Hi. My name is Brian utterback and I work for Sun Microsystems, Inc.
This is my first weblog. I work in a department called OP/N1 RPE. The
name recently changed. It was previously known as “Solaris Sustaining”,
which I think is much more descriptive even if it is incomplete.



This organization is responsible for fixing/back-porting/patching all
released versions of the Solaris operating system. We do a lot more now,
and that is one reason for the name change.



My particular group is “NFS/Naming” which means I support NFS and all
the naming services such as NIS, NIS+, LDAP, DNS, etc. In addition, I
support sendmail and NTP.



I have been at Sun for 7 years now. I have been an Internet user for 24
years.
Well, this was just to get started. I will post
more as the mood strikes.

blu


3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anonymous on July 7, 2004 at 1:36 pm

    A voice from the past. Sounds like you’ve done a lot since Millipore, so have I. Just interested to see you’re now working for your favorite company. I’m still in proteomics, officially Business Leader for the Analytical Proteomics Business at PerkinElmer. How’s the family? You mention your son but I thought you had 3 kids?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jerry Uanino on September 17, 2004 at 6:28 am

    Hey Brian, I was just curious if your group was aware of the failure of the ldap client to update the shadowlastchg field when using LDAP as a naming service. My group is migrating from NIS+ to LDAP and suffering a lot of pain while attempting this. Also, once an account has expired it fails to prompt a user for a new password. This seems against the standards of today’s (and yesterday’s) most common operating environments. I’ve logged a call to Sun only to get a “working as designed” answer. Any thoughts?

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sanjeev on December 1, 2004 at 12:39 am

    Why no blog entry for a long time…
    Tell me more..Your work looks interesting.
    Do you get to read the entire code base including
    device-drivers ?
    Sanjeev.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

